Click Here for Up to Date COVID-19 Information

For the health and safety of our team, FordMurray attorneys and legal analysts will be working remotely at this time. For contact information, click here.

Treaty Countries for E Visas

Treaty Countries for E Visas

E Visas are a popular nonimmigrant visa to the United States, giving foreign investors and entrepreneurs the chance to work and live in the U.S. As a nonimmigrant visa, the E investor visas do not provide a direct path to permanent residence, however E visa holders can hold an E status for an extended period and, if the business and investment grows, the investment could lead to a permanent residence status through the EB-5 investor program.

At FordMurray, we have seen increased interest in investor visas with changes in U.S. immigration policy. As the Trump Administration looks to essentially shut down the Start Up Visa program, and as stringent immigration policy has created stout competition for H-1B cap petitions, skilled workers and investors continue to seek a foothold in the United States. Investor visas are unique because they are the only truly entrepreneurial visa that gives foreign investors their chance at the “American Dream” – to start a business and make a go of it using your skills, your grit and your determination.

The first step to take if you are considering whether to apply for an E Visa is to determine whether you are eligible. Only people with passports from an E treaty country can apply for an investor visa. If you have dual citizenship in an E visa country, you can apply for an E Visa. E visa eligibility is determined by country of nationality, not country of birth.

E-1 and E-2 Treaty Countries

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China (Taiwan)
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Honduras
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • South Korea
  • Kosovo
  • Latvia
  • Liberia
  • Luxembourg
  • Macedonia
  • Mexico
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Paraguay
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • Yugoslavia

E-1 (Only) Treaty Countries

  • Greece
  • Israel

E-2 (Only) Treaty Countries

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Cameroon
  • Congo (Brazzaville)
  • Congo (Kinshasa)
  • Czech Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lithuania
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Romania
  • Senegal
  • Slovak Republic
  • Sri Lanka
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Ukraine