Trump Administration Expands Travel Ban

An expansion of President Trump’s 2017 travel ban adds Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan and Myanmar. With the expansion, announced January 31, 2020, nearly a quarter of the population of Africa is subject to the immigration guidelines, according to the New York Times.

The newest travel ban applies to citizens of Nigeria, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan and Myanmar who have applied for but have not received an immigration visa. The travel restriction for Sudan and Tanzania is less severe – only those hoping to enter the United States on a Diversity Visa are impacted.


The Travel Ban does not apply to the following individuals:

  • Lawful Permanent Residents of the U.S. (Green Card holders)
  • Any foreign national who had a valid visa on the effective date
  • Any national who was in the U.S. on the effective date, regardless of immigration status
  • Anyone admitted or paroled into the U.S. after the effective date
  • Anyone with a valid entry document other than visa, such as an advance parole document
  • Dual nationals presenting a passport from another, non-listed, country
  • Any foreign national traveling on a diplomatic or diplomatic-type visa, North Atlantic Treaty Organization visa, C-2 visa for travel to the United Nations, or G-1, G-2, G-3, or G-4 visa
  • Any foreign national who has been granted asylum; any refugee who has already been admitted to the United States; or any individual who has been granted withholding of removal, advance parole, or protection under the Convention Against Torture

The previous exception for “bona fide relationships”, such close family members present in the U.S., has been eliminated. Any foreign national from the targeted countries may apply for a waiver to the ban. Consular Officers will review these applications on a case by case basis.

FordMurray will continue to monitor the Trump Administration’s entry restrictions on nationals from certain countries and will provide additional guidance in future Client Alerts. Feel free to contact FordMurray with any specific questions you have.